# MINUTES COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

# Thursday, November 12, 2015, 12:30 PM

#### Lunch started at 12:00.

# **EPIC Building, Room G287**

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

- <u>COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING</u>: R. Johnson, R. Smelser, M. Hermann, B. Harden, J. Edgecomke, Cricket Bonnetard, B. Harden,
- <u>CIVIL ENGINEERING</u>: D. Young, J.Daniels, E. Weber, O.Keen, J. Bowen, M Kane.
- <u>ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING</u>: R. Adams, N. Bousaba, Y. Kakad, A. Nasipuri, B. Parkhideh, B. Rodriguez, J Hudack, S. Kamalasadan, J.Conrad, Y.Amengonu, F. Tranjan, T. Weldon, J Enslin (EPIC)
- ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT: T. Hong, C.Lim, S. G Teng.
- <u>ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY</u>: J Kimble, N Byers, B Sherlock, G Mayo, W Williams, R Priebe, T Cavalline, D Chen, T Nicholas, T Brizendine, S. Wang, and B. Gehrig.
- <u>MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ENGINEERING SCIENCE</u>: S. Smith, P. Ramaprabhu, C vermillion, P. Davis, F. Green, M.G. Hodgins, J Raquet, A. El-Ghannam, H. Zhang,
- <u>OSDS</u>: T. Jordan, P Tolley
- EPIC: J. Enslin, Y Baez, R. Guyer.

Documented attendance: 53 total.

#### 1. Welcome

CEFO president Bruce Gehrig called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

#### 2. Approval of Past Minutes (Bruce Gehrig)

A motion to approve the minutes from the last meeting was deferred as the minutes had not yet been prepared and posted. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at <u>http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html</u>

# 3. Introduction of New Faculty & Staff

No new faculty and staff members were introduced.

# 4. Giving Green Campaign (Senior Associate Dean Ron Smelser)

Dean Smelser talked about the Giving Green Campaign and thanked those who have contributed.

5. Faculty Leave Change – Lori McMahon, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs Budget and Personnel

Lori McMahon associate provost for academic budget and personnel was the guest speaker. She talked about leave policy, pay period and faculty military leave and policy related to that. Procedure

regarding FMLA, application process, campus benefits compared to the federal government and the mechanism to back fill the FMLA has been discussed. Slides of Lori's presentation can be requested from Jennifer Eklund.

#### 6. COE Updates and 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary (Dean Bob Johnson)

50th Year COE Celebration updates provided. Dean Johnson promoted the purchase of the commemorative medallion created for the anniversary event. The origin of the medallion's design and Dr. Jamie Franki's role and work in the design of the medallion was noted. All were encouraged to purchase medallions as the receipts will be used to support the COE scholarship fund.

#### 7. Faculty Award and Recognition Ceremony (Dean Bob Johnson)

Faculty who reached tenure of service milestones were recognized.

- Ron Priebe, 45 years
- Rajaram Janardhanam, 35 years
- Jy Wu, 35 years
- Farid Tranjan, 30 years
- David Young, 30 years
- Jim Bowen, 20 years
- Harish Cherukuri, 20 years
- Mohamad-Ali Hasan, 20 years
- Martin Kane, 20 years
- Scott Smith, 20 years
- Patty Tolley, 20 years
- Thomas Weldon, 20 years

Faculty who had received professional awards or recognitions in the last year were recognized.

Faulty who were promoted to full professor, promoted to associate professor and awarded permanent tenure, or reappointed in the last year were recognized.

- Tara Cavalline, Reappointment as Assistant Professor
- Babak Parkhideh, Reappointment as Assistant Professor
- Alireza Tabarraei, Reappointment as Assistant Professor
- Dong Chen, Promotion to Associate Professor with Permanent Tenure
- Jiang Xie, Promotion to Full Professor

Undergraduate and graduate teaching award winners were recognized.

- Dr. Tom Nicholas (ETCM) Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award
- Dr. Don Chen (ETCM) Graduate Teaching Excellence Award

Nominations for teaching awards:

Janos Gergely, John Ziegert, Ryan Adams, Churlzu Lim, Olya Keen, Brigid Mullany, Sukumar Kamalasadan, & Ertunga Ozelkan

Teaching Award Committee Members (includes students):

Jonathan Mayhorn, Bharat Joshi, Nigel Zheng, Srinivas Pulugurtha, Tara Cavalline, Agnes Ozelkan, Yogendra Kakad, Praveen Ramaprabhu, Bill Saunders, Cody Beal, Sandeep Krishnakumar, Samuel Shue, Mark Rubeo, Josh Davis, Clay Wallace, Jacob Tyndall, Wesley Johnson, Alex Curley, & Robert Lankford

# 8. Adjournment (Bruce Gehrig)