MINUTES

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

Thursday, November 29, 2012, 12:30 PM

Duke Building, Room 345

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

- COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, K. Brown, M. Castle, J. Edgecombe, D. Furr, B. Mohler, D. Rowe, R. Smelser, J. Stein, J. Stuart
- CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Amburgey, J. Daniels, M. Kane, D. Naylor, M. Pando, W. Saunders, B. Tempest, D. Weggel, J. Wu
- ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: N. Bousaba, J. Conrad, I. Ferguson, Y. Kakad, M. Miri, A. Mukherjee, A. Nasipuri, Z. Salami, T. Weldon, J. Xie
- ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT: C. Lim, E. Ozelkan, G. Teng
- ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Brizendine, T. Cavalline, D. Chen, J. Hildreth, D. Hoch, J. Kimble, S. McMillan, D. Murphy, T. Nicholas, C. Orozco, P. Schmidt, B. Sherlock, R. Swan, P. Tolley, L. Vasil
- MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ENGINEERING SCIENCE: T. Beauregard, H. Cherukuri, A. El-Ghannam, G. Elliott, H. Fang, J. Hill, R. Hocken, T. Koch, E. Morse, B. Mullany, S. Patterson, P. Ramaprabhu, J. Raquet, N. Sarunac, T. Schmitz, A. Tabarraei, K. Thorsett-Hill, M. Uddin, M. White, G. Wilson, J. Ziegert
- OSDS: D. Blackmon, M. Harkins, D. Latta
- GUESTS: J. Brien, J. Miller, Greg Caskey, R. Hege, T. Brown Documented attendance: 77 total.

1. Welcome

CEFO president Jeff Kimble called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

Toby Rufty introduced Lauren Beastall, who is taking over his position. Toby retires at the end of 2012.

2. Approval of Past Minutes (Jeff Kimble)

A motion to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2012 CEFO meeting was seconded and passed. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html

3. Discussion of raising continuing GPA to 2.5 (Ron Smelser)

Assistant Dean Smelser proposes an end-of-freshman year requirement for good standing and a 2.5 GPA before being moved on to the major department. It is intended that this new requirement would apply to all engineering majors except Engineering Technology. Dr. Smelser asked faculty to begin discussing that

proposed requirement. In response to a question about the likely impact of such a measure, Dr. Smelser replied that enrollments will likely go down for about two years and then go up again.

4. Recognition of Faculty and Staff (Dean Bob Johnson)

Dean Johnson recognized the following staff members with long service:

- 26 years: Ted Brown, Chrystal Lilly-Gibbs
- 25 years: Terry Rhodes
- 21 years: Jimmie Miller
- 20 years: Toby Rufty, Donna Furr, John Brien
- 19 years: Mike Moss
- 18 years: Roland Hege, Dan Rowe
- 17 years: Dan Rowe, Billie Jo Schweitzer
- 16.5 years: Madelyn Wilson
- 15 years: Mike Hermann, Rodney Dyer, Elizabeth Scott
- 14 years: Gina Robinson, Wendy Meier
- 13 years: Yolanda McIlwaine, Jason Edgecombe, Dave Whisler
- 12 years: Greg Caskey, Lebra Nance, Linda Thurman

Chrystal Lilly-Gibbs and Toby Rufty are retiring at the end of the year.

The Undergraduate Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Dr James Conrad (ECE). The Graduate Award for Teaching Excellence was tied between Dr. Shen-En Chen (CEE) and Dr. John Hildreth (ET). The Dean also recognized the members of the award selection committee and the following persons who were award nominees: David Naylor, Don Chen, Steve Patterson, Andrew Willis and Russ Keanini.

The following individuals were recognized for national distinctions:

- Dr. Shen-En Chen: 2013 Harting Award for best paper in Experimental Techniques 2011
- Dr. Jim Conrad: 2012 IEEE-USA Outstanding Service Award
- Dr. Robert Cox: two of his students received best paper awards.
- Dr. Johan Enslin: Elevated to IEEE Fellow status
- Dr. Ian Ferguson: Elevated to Fellow of the Institute of Physics
- Dr. Aravind Kailas: Best paper award, 15th Int. Symp. Wireless Personal Multimedia Comms.
- Dr. Maciej Noras: Senior Member of IEEE
- Dr. Babak Parkhideh: Best paper award, IEEE SmartGridComm 2012
- Dr. Ron Sass: Best paper award, Int. Conf. on Field Programmable Logic
- Dr. Tony Schmitz: Named a Temple University Alumni Fellow
- Dr. Gary Teng: Bernard R. Sarchet Award, highest ASEE award in Engineering Management
- Dr. John Zeigert: Distinguished Service Award, American Society for Precision Engineering

The Dean recognized the following persons reappointed as Assistant Professor: Jonathan Bird, Doing Chen, Na Lu, Sara McMillan, Ahmad Sleiti

The Dean recognized the following persons promoted to Associate Professor with Permanent Tenure: James Amburgey, Robert Cox, Churlzu Lim, Hongbing Fang

The Dean Recognized Asis Nasipuri who was promoted to Full Professor.

5. College report (Dean Robert Johnson)

• We were extremely fortunate to get 2 faculty positions in Systems Engineering, and 2 faculty positions in Mechanical Engineering.

- The Chancellor has allocated money for modest SPA increases for persons below market rate. We received about \$22,000.
- Good news about the MS in Applied Engineering and Electromagnetic Systems in the ET Department: Appendix A has been accepted, and we have been asked for Appendix C.
- The General Assemble is doing an elaborate review of the cost per program (systemwide across 16 campuses), and this is moving along at a fast pace.
- Lauren Beastall is taking over from Toby Rufty who retires at the end of 2012.
- Jennifer Eklund will be coming to the Dean's office to take over from Chrystal Lilly-Gibbs who retires at the end of 2012.
- The EPIC Building is open.

6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:21 p.m.