# **MINUTES**

# COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

Thursday, November 21, 2013, 12:30 PM

#### **Duke Building, Room 345**

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

- COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, K. Brown, J. Eklund, D. Furr, R. Smelser, J. Stein, J. Stuart, W. Meier
- CIVIL ENGINEERING: S. Chen, J. Daniels, W. Fan, M. Pando, K. Warren, J. Wu
- ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: N. Bousaba, C. Hargrove, Y. Kakad, M. Manjrekar, A. Mukherjee, R. Sass
- ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT: M. Ogle, E. Ozelkan, D. Smith
- ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Brizendine, T. Cavalline, D. Chen, B. Gehrig, R. Graley, R. Handy, H. Kim, C. Morrisey, D. Murphy, T. Nicholas, M. Noras, C. Orozco, P. Schmidt, B. Sherlock, N. Tymvios, S. Wang, M. Wayne, T. Rayne, M. Wilson, M. Herman, J. Bullington
- MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ENGINEERING SCIENCE: K. Day, J. Hill, S. Kelly, K. Thorsett-Hill, P. Tkacik, N. Zheng, L. Nance, L. Pound
- OSDS: M. Harkins, L. Thurman
- GUESTS: T. Brown, B, Scheweitier, T. Rhodes, J. Edgecombe, J. Brien, J. Miller, E. Blanchard, J. Ramsey, K. Weaver

Documented attendance: 63 total.

#### 1. Welcome

CEFO president Ari Mukherjee called the meeting to order at 12:35 p.m.

# 2. Approval of Past Minutes (Tom Nicholas)

A motion to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2013 CEFO meeting was seconded and passed. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at <a href="http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html">http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html</a>

# 3. Discussion of CEFO Bylaws (Tom Nicholas)

CEFO Secretary Tom Nicholas reported that the CEFO bylaws have been placed on the consent calendar.

#### 4. Recognition of Faculty and Staff (Dean Bob Johnson)

Dean Johnson recognized the following staff members with long service:

27 years: Ted Brown26 years: Terry Rhodes

22 years: Jimmie Miller

21 years: Donna Furr, John Brien

20 years: Mike Moss

19 years: Roland Hege, Dan Rowe

18 years: Billie Jo Schweitzer, Jane Stewart

17 years: Madelyn Wilson

16 years: Mike Hermann, Rodney Dyer, Elizabeth Blackwell

15 years: Gina Robinson, Wendy Meier

14 years: Yolanda McIlwaine, Jason Edgecombe, Dave Whisler

13 years: Greg Caskey, Lebra Nance, Linda Thurman

11 years: Cricket Bonnetaud

10 years: Melanie White

The Undergraduate Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Dr. Tony Schmitz (MEE). The Graduate Award for Teaching Excellence was presented to Dr. Scott Kelley (MEE) The Dean also recognized the members of the award selection committee and the following persons who were award nominees: Dr. Tara Cavalline, Dr. Don Chen, Dr. Rob Cox, Dr. Miguel Pando, Dr. Ray Tsu and Dr. Matthew Whelan.

The following individuals were recognized for national distinctions:

Dr. Howie Fang (MEE) – Associate Editor of International Journal of Design Engineering Dr. Olya Keen (CEE) –Best UV Research Paper of 2012 Award, the International Ultraviolet Association.

Mr. Alain Miatudila (ETCM) – Awarded the Central Piedmont Community College, 2013 Richard H. Hagemeyer Award recipient.

Dr. Ertunga Ozelkan (SEEM) - Certificate of Recognition from the Institute of Industrial Engineering Lean Division

Dr. Ertunga Ozelkan, Dr. Gary Teng, and Dr. Jonathan Mayhorn (SEEM) – Awarded the IIE Engineering Lean Six Sigma Conference Best Paper Competition second place award Dr. Praveen Ramaprabhu (MEE) – Promoted to Senior Member of American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics

Mrs. Karen Thorsett-Hill (MEE) – Selected as a Levine Scholars Faculty Affiliate.

Dr. Mesbah Uddin (MEE) – Appointed by Governor Pat McCrory to serve as a member of the North Carolina Motorsports Advisory Council

The Dean recognized the following persons reappointed as Assistant Professor: Valentina Cecchi, Brett Tempest, and Matthew Whelan

The Dean recognized the following persons promoted to Associate Professor with Permanent Tenure: Ryan Adams, Maciej Noras, Peter Schmidt, Peter Tkacik, Kimberly Warren, Nigel Zheng, and Aixi Zhou.

The Dean recognized the following persons promoted to Full Professor: Shen-en Chen, James Conrad, Gloria Elliott, and Ronald Sass.

# 5. College report (Dean Robert Johnson)

• The Infrastructure, Design, Environment and Sustainability research center (IDEAS) and the Environmental Assistance Office (EAO), have been realigned to better serve the goals of the college and university. IDEAS will be focused on research for urban infrastructure sustainability, and it will report to EPIC to better support the "I" in its name. Dr. Srinivas Pulugurtha will serve as the center's director. IDEAS research will include all the key technical areas of urban infrastructure: water, energy production, energy efficiency, sustainable built environment,

transportation, air, communications, and the urban-rural interface. EAO will be renamed EEAO, Energy and Environmental Assistance Office. It will be separated from IDEAS, and will also report to EPIC. EEAO will provide recharge unit services for the Environmental Lab, the Smart Grid Lab, the Infrastructure Lab, and the Materials Lab. In time, this will enable the college to better support these laboratory operations, people, and equipment. Dr. David Young was thanked by Dean Johnson for his assistance with the realignment.

- The Chancellor provided a one-time budget improvement of \$500,000 to the College.
- Based on graduate tuition increment, departments will be getting a small amount of funding for graduate students.
- Each Department has submitted proposals for large equipment purchases.
- Graduate student enrollment is up 20% in the College. The University is enrollment is down, largely due to the loss of 300+ graduate students in the College of Education.
- The college will be looking at undergraduate enrollment, particularly at recruiting a stronger freshman class.
- Small Equity raises were given to persons not meeting 80 percentile of peer group salaries \$750,000 total across the University.
- The safety committee will be making recommendations for developing safety protocol in laboratories.

### 6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:20 p.m.