MINUTES

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

Thursday, December 1, 2011, 12:30 PM

Duke Building, Room 345

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

- COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: M. Castle, J.Enslin, D. Furr, R. Guyer, M. Hermann, W. Heybruck, R. Johnson, C. Lilly-Gibbs, R. McIntire, W. Meier, R. Moose, D. Rowe, T. Rufty, R. Smelser, J. Stein
- CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Bowen, J. Daniels, J. Graham, H. Hilger, M. Kane, D. Naylor, Y. Park, J. Wu, D. Young
- ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: N. Bousaba, V. Cecchi, J. Conrad, K. Daneshvar, F.D. Essenwein, A. Ebong, M. Hasan, B. Joshi, Y. Kakad, S. Kalamasadan, M. Miri, A. Ravindran, R. Sass, E. Stokes, F. Tranjan, A. Willis, Z. Salami
- ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT: E. Ozelkan
- ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Brizendine, N. Byars, D. Chen, C-S. Cho, C. Dontoh, J. Eklund, M. Herman, J. Hildreth, D. Hoch, P. Juneja, J. Kimble, O. Kyper, S. McMillan, D. Murphy, C. Orozco, R. Priebe, P. Schmidt, D.Sharer, B. Sherlock, A. Sleiti, R. Swan, S. Wang, W. Williams, M. Wilson
- MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ENGINEERING SCIENCE: T. Beauregard, J. Brien, M. Cantor, G. Caskey, H. Cherukuri, M. Davies, A. El-Ghannam, G. Elliott, C. Evans, H. Fang, R. Hocken, T. Koch, J. Miller, E. Morse, B. Mullany, Scott Smith, A. Soliman, P. Tkacik, M. Uddin, Q. Wei, K. Weaver, H. Zhang, N. Zheng.
- OSDS: L. Thurman
- GUESTS: C. Gregory, J. Edgecombe, B. Mohler

Documented attendance: 93 total.

1. Welcome

CEFO president Martin Kane called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

2. Approval of Minutes (Barry Sherlock)

A motion to approve the minutes of the September 8, 2011 CEFO meeting was seconded and passed. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html

3. Recognition of Faculty and Staff (Dean Bob Johnson)

The following staff members with over 10 years of service were recognized: 25 years: Ted Brown, Chrystal Lilly-Gibbs

24 years: Terry Rhodes

20 years: Jimmie Miller, Toby Rufty 19 years: Donna Furr, John Brien

18 years: Mike Moss

17 years: Roland Hege, Dan Rowe

16 years: Billie Jo Schweitzer, Jane Stewart, Madelyn Wilson

14 years: Mike Hermann, Rodney Dyer, Elizabeth Scott, Gina Lotharp, Wendy Meier

12 years: Yolanda McIlwaine, Jason Edgecombe, David Whisler

11 years: Greg Caskey, Lebra Nance, Linda Thurman

Yogi Kakad (ECE) was recognized for being a finalist for the prestigious Bank of America Teaching Award. He is also the longest serving member of ECE (since 1976).

Harish Cherukuri (MEES) was recognized for being the recipient of the 2011 Harashini V. Da Silva Graduate Mentor Award; he also is a recent recipient of a Fulbright Nehru Fellowship.

Matt Davies (MEES) was recently promoted to the rank of full professor. Dean Johnson presented him with his Jefferson cup in recognition of his promotion.

Dean Johnson presented the College of Engineering Teaching Awards to the following faculty members:

Undergraduate teaching award: Sarah McMillan (ETCM)

Graduate teaching award: Yogi Kakad (ECE)

Also nominated for this award were professors Gergely, Wu, Cox, Tkacik and Elliott.

The following were recognized for national achievements:

Ahmed Soliman: Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers

Ian Ferguson: Fellow of the Institute of Physics

Johnny Graham: Life Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers

Ertunga Ozelkan: ASEE Merl Baker Award for contributions to the Engineering Management division.

Dr Helene Hilger was nominated for the UNC Charlotte Alumni Association ATHENA Award.

Dr. Jerre Hill and Dr. Ed Munday were recognized by the Provost for 25 years service to the University.

Chung-Suk Cho, John Hildreth, and Nigel Zheng were reappointed as Assistant Professors.

Bharat Joshi and Andrew Willis were promoted to Associate Professor with permanent tenure.

Ahmed El-Ghannam and Josef Urbas received permanent tenure at their current rank of Associate Professor.

Ed Morse and Ed Stokes were promoted to full professor.

The Dean thanked Chrystal, Jane, Beverly, and Robin who worked to put on this faculty/staff recognition event.

4. Presentation regarding Graduate Tuition (Dean Johnson)

A proposal to have a graduate student tuition increment has been moving forward through Academic Affairs. This would implement differential tuition between graduate and undergraduate students). Dean Johnson conducted a review of graduate programs in the region and at institutions that are recognized as our peer institutions. It was clear that we are dramatically less expensive than any one of them. Yet, it is not less expensive for us to educate engineers here.

The proposed increase amounts to \$900 per semester for full time study. It will go to the Board of Trustees. Past experience indicates that if approved, it would be implemented incrementally over a period of about three years.

The proposed use of the extra money (which should amount to about \$195,000 per semester) is 40% to equipment, 10% for materials, 25% support for 10 graduate lab assistants, and 25% to Academic Affairs.

Dean Johnson said that we should move towards a ratio of 70% undergraduate / 30% graduate students. We are currently at 88% undergraduate / 12% graduate. The State gives more money for graduate students.

5. Motorsports Building Update (Ahmed Soliman)

The Motorsports program was established in 1998 and currently has 7 core faculty. The new 16,500 square-ft Motorsports Research Building was completed on October 27, 2011, at a cost of \$700K less than the \$4.5 million budget. Faculty and graduate students will be moved to the building by the end of December 2011.

6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.