MINUTES

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

Thursday, March 31, 2011, 12:30 PM

CARC, Room 101

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

- COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: M. Castle, D. Furr, W. Heybruck, R. Johnson, W. Meier, T. Rufty, R. Smelser, J. Stein
- CIVIL ENGINEERING: K. Baarson, J. Daniels, C. Evans, J. Gergely, M. Kane, V. Ogunro, S. Pulugurtha, W. Saunders, K. Warren, M. Whelan, D. Young
- ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: N. Bousaba, I. Ferguson, Y. Kakad, V. Lukic, A. Martin, M. Miri
- ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT: C Lim, E. Ozelkan, S.G. Teng.
- ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Brizendine, N. Byars, D. Chen, D. Cottrell, J. Hildreth, D. Hoch, J. Kimble, A. Kitts, S. McMillan, D. Murphy, T. Nicholas, R. Priebe, P. Schmidt, D.Sharer, B. Sherlock, A. Sleiti, P. Tolley, J. Urbas, S. Wang, A. Zhou
- MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ENGINEERING SCIENCE: A. El-Ghannam, H. Fang, J. Raquet, Scott Smith, A. Soliman, P. Tkacik, M. Uddin, N. Zheng.
- OSDS: C. Blat
- GUESTS: John Smail (Dean of University College)
- Documented attendance: 58 total, 43 voting faculty.
- Quorum of voting faculty: 51.

1. Welcome

CEFO president Ertunga Ozelkan called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of Dr. Paul H. DeHoff, Jr., who passed away in June 2010. Dr. DeHoff joined UNC-Charlotte in 1978 as Professor of Engineering Science in the Department of Engineering Science, Mechanics, and Materials (later renamed the Mechanical Engineering Department). He served as Chairman of the Mechanical Engineering Department for 15 years (1978 to 1993), and retired in 2000.

2. Approval of Minutes (Barry Sherlock)

A motion to approve the minutes of the January 21, 2011 CEFO meeting was seconded and passed. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at <u>http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html</u>

3. SWE Function (Sara McMillan)

The Society of Women Engineers will be holding a function called "Battle of the Engineers" for faculty and students on the evening of Reading Day, May 6^{th} , 6-8 pm. The flyer for this event can be found at <u>http://mees.uncc.edu/~swesb/Battle%200f%20the%20Eng%20Flyer.pdf</u>.

4. COE Constitution Revision Update (Peter Schmidt)

Peter Schmidt presented the results of the vote on the revised CEFO Constitution. Of the 102 voting faculty members, a total of 93 voted. The responses were as follows: 83 yes, 7 no, 1 abstain, 2 unmarked.

The 83 yes votes obtained exceeded the 2/3 majority requirement of 68 votes, and therefore the constitution revision has passed.

5. COE Elections and Nominations Update (Martin Kane)

Martin Kane displayed the list of College and University Committees for which we need to elect members for terms starting in Fall 2011. Faculty are encouraged to nominate themselves or colleagues to serve.

6. New Admission Requirements (Ron Smelser)

Dr. Smelser presented the following changes introduced by the Undergraduate Administration Committee.

Readmission:

To be considered for readmission to the College after suspension, students must have above a 1.8 cumulative GPA. The decision to readmit is a Departmental or OSDS decision.

Course repeat policy : (for all Departments except Technology)

All engineering program curricular courses may only be attempted three times. Failure to successfully progress will result in suspension from the College. OSDS is monitoring DFWs in all courses for progress in Freshman year.

COE Admission Standards:

Prior to 2005, COE admission standards were MSAT > 520 and PGI > 2.5. In 2005 this was changed to the current MSAT > 480 and PGI > 2.0. This change has resulted in only a small additional population of students, most of whom do not graduate. Based upon this outcome, the new admissions standards will be <u>MSAT > 520</u>, PGI > 2.25.

Students not admissible to an engineering program under the new standards may still be admissible to Engineering Technology, or to University College to get their GPA improved, and OSDS will work to keep such students engaged.

The current requirement for no D's and F's in high school math and science has led to various anomalies, and has therefore been eliminated.

7. Quality Enhancement Programs (John Smail, Professor and Dean of University College)

Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) is a new invention by SACS as part of the accreditation process. QEP is a campus-wide effort to affect key student learning outcomes. In the Fall, the faculty was invited to submit proposals for QEP topics. This has resulted in the following four QEP topics which are now being taken around the University for Faculty input:

- QEP 1: Student Engagement
- QEP 2: Digital Citizenship
- QEP 3: Themes in General Education / Global Competency / Sustainability / Community
- QEP 4: Active Learning and E-portfolio for Communication Skills

The QEP will be approved by the by the SACS accreditation visit in Spring 2013, and will be rolled out over the following five years. The QEP is about undergraduate, not graduate, education. It would be

advantageous if the QEP were of such a nature that material used for ABET accreditation could be repackaged for SACS accreditation.

Documents describing each of the four QEP topics have been emailed to all COE Faculty, and can also be found on the CEFO web page. Comments can be submitted to Dr. Smail via email at <u>jsmail@uncc.edu</u>.

8. College of Engineering update (Dean Robert Johnson)

Search for Director of EPIC Center:

The Search Committee made use of a search firm to build a pool of candidates for the Director of EPIC Center position. This was reduced to 8-10 semifinalists and then narrowed to 4 finalists. The first interviews will be held next week. Faculty are encouraged to participate, and to give feedback on the candidates.

Budget:

- Uncertainty about the budget is at a maximum, so that nothing can be reported at this time.
- Anyone with purchase orders is strongly recommended to submit them at the earliest possible moment, to avoid disappointment if the money is taken away.

EPIC:

EPIC is moving along on schedule. There were cuts to the EPIC budget, but the Chancellor has given a lot of money back.

9. Adjournment

CEFO President Ertunga Ozelkan thanked the Executive Committee officers (Peter Schmidt, Barry Sherlock, and Martin Kane) for their work during the past academic year. David Young called for a round of applause in appreciation for Ertunga Ozelkan's service as CEFO President. The meeting was adjourned at 1:42 p.m.