MINUTES

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

Thursday, September 16, 2010, 12:30 PM

Cameron, Room 101

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

- COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: M. Castle, J. Edgecombe, D. Furr, W. Meier, R. Moose, T. Rufty, R. Smelser, J. Stein, J. Stewart
- CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Amburgey, K. Baarson, J. Bowen, S. Chen, J. Daniels, C. Evans, J. Gergely, J. Graham, H. Hilger, R. Janardhanam, M. Kane, D. Naylor, V. Ogunro, M. Pando, S. Pulugurtha, W. Saunders, B. Tempest, K. Warren, D. Young
- ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: D. Binkley, N. Bousaba, V. Cecchi, J. Conrad, I. Ferguson, C. Hargrove, J. Hudak, B. Joshi, Y. Kakad, S. Kamalasadan, A. Martin, E. Stokes, F. Tranjan, T. Weldon, P. Winter, Y. Zhang
- ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT: C. Lim, E. Ozelkan, Y. Sireli, S.G. Teng.
- ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Brizendine, N. Byars, D. Chen, C. Cho, D. Cottrell, M. DeCusati, C. Dontoh, J. Eklund, B. Gehrig, J. Hildreth, D. Hoch, T. Jarrell, P. Kabengela, J. Kimble, S. McMillan, D. Murphy, C. Orozco, R. Priebe, P. Schmidt, D. Sharer, B. Sherlock, A. Sleiti, R. Swan, P. Tolley, S. Wang, C. Whitehead, M. Wilson, A. Zhou.
- MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ENGINEERING SCIENCE: G. Elliott, H. Fang, R. Hocken, C.Y. Lee, B. Mullany, S. Patterson, J. Raquet, Scott Smith, Stuart Smith, N. Srivastava, M. Uddin, Q. Wei, H. Zhang.
- OSDS: L. Thurman.
- GUESTS: J. Stein.

Documented attendance: 91 total, 64 voting faculty.

Quorum of voting faculty: 54.

1. Welcome

CEFO president Ertunga Ozelkan called the meeting to order at 12:32 p.m.

The CEFO Executive Committee for 2010-2011 consists of: Ertunga Ozelkan (President), Martin Kane (President Elect), Barry Sherlock (Secretary), and Peter Schmidt (Parliamentarian).

Upcoming CEFO meetings are scheduled for November 11, January 20 and March 31. CEFO focus areas for 2010-2011 include:

- the CEFO constitution and bylaws
- updating faculty on events, programs, procedures, new software/technology
- exposing faculty to research in different areas of engineering

College and University Committee elections

The COE Picnic will be held on October 1. No tickets are required. The picnic is open to all COE students, staff, faculty, and alumni.

2. Approval of Minutes (Barry Sherlock)

A motion to approve the minutes of the April 1, 2010 CEFO meeting was seconded and passed. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at http://www.coe.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/coe-faculty-organization.html

3. Introduction of New Faculty and Staff (Department Chairs)

The following new faculty and staff were welcomed to the College of Engineering: *Civil Engineering*:

- John Daniels (rejoining the Geotechnical group after a three year absence at NSF)
- Miguel Pando (Geotechnical)
- Brett Tempest (Structural Engineering)
- Matt Whelan (Structural Engineering)
- Lori Brown (Business Services Specialist, Accounting)
- Erin Morant (Student Services Specialist, graduate students)

Electrical and Computer Engineering:

- Ian Ferguson (Chair)
- Sukumar Kamalasadan (Power systems)
- Claude Hargrove (replaces Alan Hege)
- Valentina Cecchi (Power systems)
- Douglas Isenberg (Instructor)
- Alec Martin (EPIC)

Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science:

• Chris Evans

Engineering Technology:

• Jennifer Eklund (Business Services Specialist)

Dean:

- Robin Moose (replaces Donna Overcash)
- Travis Edwards (Mosaic, systems programmer)
- Andrew Verner (Mosaic, systems programmer)
- Wendy Meier (has moved from Engineering Technology to Grants & Contracts)

4. Using WordPress for building Faculty homepages (Jim Bowen)

Jim Bowen shared his experience of building a new personal home page using WordPress. WordPress is a popular free software system for producing blogs, online magazines, and web pages. Mosaic staff (Dave Whisler) has created a WordPress site, which is being tested by a few COE faculty (Jim Bowen, Churlzu Lim, Aixi Zhou, Ed Morse, Matt Davies). WordPress offers several benefits: simple to use editor; provides a new capability while retaining the old system; gives a modern and consistent template for our web pages; automatically generates search engine friendly pages. Testing will continue this Fall, and further progress will be reported on in 2-4 months.

5. Faculty Welfare Committee (Martin Kane)

The University Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) has passed a motion to create a new University committee called the Faculty Welfare Committee. Each college provides one representative and one alternate. The term is two years. The first meeting will be October 1st. A call for nominations resulted in

the nomination of Dave Murphy. Jim Bowen expressed willingness to serve as alternate. A motion to close nominations was seconded and passed. A motion to elect Dave Murphy as Representative and Jim Bowen as Alternate by acclamation was seconded and passed.

6. COE Constitution Revision (Peter Schmidt)

The revised Constitution is posted on the CEFO website. It will be voted upon at the next CEFO meeting. After passing, the next level of discussion will be the Bylaws.

7. COE Senior Design Program Review (Dan Hoch/Peter Schmidt)

Peter Schmidt gave a presentation on the COE multidisplinary/sponsored senior design program, as given to the Chairs and Dean at the last AIM meeting. Senior design is an ABET requirement. The multidisciplinary/sponsored course was adopted in 2006, and now has a student enrollment of 280, 10 sections, 9 instructors, over 20 industry sponsors, and over 100 projects. It has produced \$460,000 in external funding over the last 5 years.

Quality has improved dramatically, as a result of quality mentoring by faculty. Experience has shown that mentor effort is best utilized in coaching and directing team activities; therefore, metor grading has been cut back to a single rubric per semester. Mentors have successfully fostered industry relationships that have yielded funded research. Mentors have also recruited or retained graduate students as a result of Senior Design engagement.

The Senior Design program is growing. Mentor engagement is crucial. If interested, please contact one of the Senior Design Committee members: Nan Bousaba (ECE), Dan Hoch (MET), David George (ME), Martin Kane (CE), Bruce Gehrig (CET), Steve Patterson (ME), Valentina Cecchi (ECE), Peter Schmidt (MET), Deb Sharer (ELET), Gary Teng (SE), Bill Heybruck (ISL), Linda Thurman (OSDS), Ron Smelser (COE).

8. ABET (Ron Smelser)

Ron Smelser gave a presentation introducing ABET accreditation – what it is, what its elements are, and how we do it within the COE (using SPART, ICAP, FAIT, PROBE, AIM). The presentation is posted on the CEFO web page. Our ABET visit will be November 7-9. Ron Smelser encouraged all to be congenial with our visitors, to be honest in our responses, and to respond professionally and promptly.

9. Dean's update (Ron Smelser)

Associate Dean Smelser reported that the College has grown from 2580 students last year to 3050 this year. The base budgets are essentially unchanged from last year. We have received \$3 million in EPIC money, and 20 faculty and staff positions will be added in response. The new Motorsports Building starts construction in mid November.

Contracts and Grants:

Toby Rufty made the following announcements:

- Steve Mosier's group has a grants hotline to deal with any problems that you may have you're your grants if you are unable to resolve them via your BSS and Toby Rufty's office. The Faculty Grants Helpline is at (704)687-2777 or email grantshelp@uncc.edu.
- Budgeting for proposals has changed. Graduate students' salary now includes benefit charges, at 2/10 of 1 percent.
- Rufty encourages PIs to talk to their departmental BSS before spending money. Two or three times per month, instances occur where money cannot be reimbursed.

10. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:34 p.m.