MINUTES COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION (CEFO)

Thursday, November 3rd, 2016, 12:30 PM

Lunch available at 12:00 PM

EPIC Building, Room G256

The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

S. Kamalasadan, A. Ravindran, S. Smith, L. Hargrove, P. Tolley, J. Miller, R. Smelser, M. Hermann, S. Hsiang, G. Zenarosa, J. Gergely, T. Koch, J. Tarbutton, T. Jordan, N. Bousaba, Y. Baez, D. Young, S. Bari, C. Lim, H. Cho, W. Fan, J. Hill, K. Hill, S. Pulugurtha, R. Sass, Y. Amengonu, H. Tabhki, A. Nasipuri, D. Craig, N. Vargas, J. Daniels, N. Braxtan, J. Holleman, J. Edgecombe, K. Lawton, J. Smithwick, D. Chen, T. Nicholas, U. Cali, T. Brizendine, J. Hildreth, N. Goudarzi, N. Barclay, K. Warren, O. Keen, J. Kimble. (Total 47)

1. Welcome

CEFO president Sukumar Kamalasadan called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

2. Approval of Past Minutes

September meeting minutes were circulated. A motion to approve the minutes from the last two meetings was made and approved by all. Past minutes are kept on the CEFO website at http://engr.uncc.edu/faculty-and-staff/cefo-faculty-organization/cefo-meeting-minutes

3. Graduate School Update (Tom Reynolds)

Graduate school leadership team presented the updates from graduate school and presented the recent activities (*the graduate school presentation will be made available*).

4. Recognition of Faculty (Dean Johnson)

Dean Johnson presented the faculty recognition awards. The list is attached.

Martin Kane - COE Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner Arun Ravindran - COE Graduate Teaching Award Winner Jonathan Mayhorn - Nominee Teaching Award Daniel Hoch - Nominee Teaching Award Wei Fan - Nominee Teaching Award Howie Fang - Nominee Teaching Award Churlzu Lim - Nominee Teaching Award Maciej Noras - Nominee Teaching Award Committee Members of Teaching Award Ronald Priebe - 46 years of service Yogendra Kakad - 40 years of service Jerre Hill - 30 years of service

Aidan Browne - Reappointment as Assistant Professor Tao Hong - Reappointment as Assistant Professor Olya Keen - Reappointment as Assistant Professor Nicholas Tymvios - Reappointment as Assistant Professor Haitao Zhang - Reappointment as Assistant Professor Brett Tempest - Promotion to Associate Professor with Permanent Tenure Matthew Whelan - Promotion to Associate Professor with Permanent Tenure Mathav Manjrekar - Tenure at Rank Hongbing Fang - Promotion to Full Professor Ertunga Ozelkan - Promotion to Full Professor Mesbah Uddin - Promotion to Full Professor Terry Xu - Promotion to Full Professor

5. Closing and Adjournment (Sukumar Kamalasadan)

Meeting adjourned at 1:30 PM