December 4, 2001

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes

(B. Sherlock, Secretary)


COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION Tuesday, December 4, 2001 @ 12:30 PM Cameron Applied Research Center, Room 101

CEFO President Ed Braun opened the meeting at 12:35 PM. The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, C. Blat, M. Hermann, S. Myers, P. Tolley.
CAMERON A.R.C.: H. Leamy.
CIVIL ENGINEERING: D. Bayer, J. Bowen, J. Daniels, J. Graham, M. Kane, V. Ogunro, D. Young.
ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: M. Hasan, J. Hudak, Y. Kakad, A. Nasipuri, H. Phillips, C. Stroud.
ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: F. Ahmad, E. Braun, N. Byars, J. Carter, J. Kimble, S. Kuyath, D. Liou, C. Liu, C. Mobley, D. Murphy, R. Priebe, D. Sharer, W. Shelnutt, B. Sherlock, S. Wang.
MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: H. Cherukuri, R. Coger, J. Cuttino, Y Hari, J. Hill, R. Hocken, E. Morse, J. Raja, J. Raquet, G. Teng, R. Wilhelm.
GUESTS: Dr. Matejka Guy..

Total documented attendance: 47.

Note that, in addition to distribution, the archive of CEFO minutes is maintained on the world wide web at

I. Approval of minutes

The minutes of the October, 2001 CEFO meeting will be voted on in the next meeting.

II. Update on new general education requirements, David Bayer.
Two open meeting were held last week. Apart from resolving the foreign language issue, the only significant impact is that it might (as currently set up) cause Technology to have one extra course. There will be a University faculty meeting called by the Chancellor in January – your attendance is encouraged. Final approval will be in February, with implementation in Fall a year from now.

III. Committee reports.
FAPSC, Jeff Kimble:

The requirement for instructors to provide a syllabus to each student was approved unanimously by FAPSC.
FAPSC recommended a change to the Academic Integrity code as applied to graduate students. The review board will be made up of appropriate graduate faculty and graduate students.
FAPSC voted to change the undergraduate certification requirements: only students who hold or are enrolled in an undergraduate degree program or equivalent can pursue a certificate.

IV. Faculty Constitution, Ed Braun.
A committee will be formed to revise the Faculty Constitution. Changes to the Constitution will be voted upon by written ballot at the same time as next year’s elections. Each department should submit the name of a candidate to Ed Braun for membership on the committee.

V. Freshman Residential Learning, Cathy Blat.
Cathy Blat gave a presentation on a new program in the College, the Freshman Learning Community. It is intended to help students network with their peers, increase student involvement, improve student academic performance, and improve retention. Cost is $15,000 per year (from enrollment increase money). The program begins Fall 2002. Enrollment is voluntary, but there is an application process.

VI. Dean’s Report, Bob Johnson.
Building Construction Projects: Dean Johnson gave an update on the current status of the construction projects. We move in two and a half years (July 1st).

New Positions: Despite the budget crisis, we got the following allocations in Spring: (i) FSET – Murphy; (ii) ECE faculty (negotiations underway); (iii) two Distance Education faculty (Kuyath, Sharer). For Fall, we have the following allocations: (i) two ECE faculty (Computer Engineering); (ii) one ME faculty (Computational Modelling); (iii) one CE faculty (Infrastructure Systems); (iv) ET Chair; (v) reinstated funds for Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. This represents a total of 10 positions. 7 are unfilled.

Enrollment: There is fairly rapid growth in the College, with our head count now at 1700. Our percentage growth rate over the past 5 years is higher than that of the rest of the university.

Operation ABET: Dean Johnson offered a $100 prize for anyone who could say what ICAP or FAIT stand for. No-one was able to give the answer. The following are organizational modules related to college program assessment and improvement:

ICAP (Individual Course Assessment Process)
FAIT (Focus Area Improvement Teams)
CAC (College Administrative Committee)
AIM (Assessment and Improvement Meeting)
SPART ( Strategic Planning and Assessment Resource Team)

VII. Visitor from France.
David Young introduced Dr. Guy Matejka, who is visiting the College. He is Director of the Environment and Waste Treatment division at the University of Limoges.

VIII. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m.

Submit corrections/changes to Dr Barry Sherlock, CEFO Secretary: