January 28, 1997

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes

(J. Carter, Secretary)


CEFO President Art Edwards opened the meeting at 12:33 PM. The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGR: R. Snyder, P. Tolley, N. Schul. CAMERON ARC: T. Rufty.
COMPUTER SCIENCE: M. Allen, K. Chen, R. Lejk, T. Mostafavi, J. Quinn, H. Razavi, J. Robinson, W. Tolone.
CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Evett, J. Graham, M. Kane, K. Lindenauer, A. Stadler, J. Wu, D. Young,.
ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING: T. Dahlberg, K. Daneshvar, A. Edwards, M. Feldman, M. Hasan, Y. Kakad, G. Metze, M. Miri, H. Phillips, M. SLeva, F. Tranjan, T. Weldon, D. Zhou.
ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: J. Bowen, E. Braun, N. Byars, J. Carter, C. Liu, J. Patten, W. Shelnutt.
MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: H. Cherukuri, R. Coger, P. DeHoff, R. Dubler, H. Estrada, Y. Hari, J. Hill, R. Johnson, R. Kim, G. Mohanty, E. Munday S. Patterson, J. Raja, Stuart Smith, R. Wilhelm.
GUESTS: None. Total documented attendance: 53 (47 voting members.) Quorum=39

I. Dean’s Report, Robert Snyder. Currently, center stage is the submission of the Strategic Plan draft to the Academic Affairs office on Friday. The draft will be submitted, reviewed by Academic Affairs, and some faculty groups. The College of Engineering will get feedback in March, and teh final version will be submitted in mid April.

II. SPART Report, Bill Shelnutt. Copies of the Strategic Plan draft have been distributed. Overhead copies of the report were displayed to facilitate discussion. Changes to the plan included the insertion of documented efforts to increase the prestige of the university, becoming the “University of Choice” rather than the “University of Default.” Also, information has been added to ephasize the PhD programs and the position of this university as a doctoral program granting institution. Discussion followed.

III. Distance Learning, Dean Snyder. Institutes have been established to implement distance learning at three of the area 2 and 4-year colleges. Implementation will start with Engineering Technology and freshman Engineering courses. Another initiation is underway to use ISDN to deliver coursework to Bethune, France.

IV. Pilot Recruiting Effort, Howard Phillips. An EE department pilot recruiting program has been established. Initiated in November of 1996, it has the objective of recruiting higher quality engineering students at UNCC. So far, there have been eight high school visits with more than 750 student contacts made. Honors students are particularly targeted. The recruiting team members include professors Tranjan, Edwards, Dahlberg, Miri, Metze, Sleva and Phillips. Ex officio members include Craig Fulton (Director of Admissions), Lisa Troutman (Admissions), Silvia Middleton and Dean Snyder. The team secretary is Melinda Edwards.

Planned agenda items including discussion of the application of a consent calendar and the Computing Facilities Committee report were tabled.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:52 PM.

Submit corrections/additions here: ( jcarter@uncc.edu)