March 25, 1999

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes

(J. Carter, Secretary)


COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION Thursday, March 25, 1999 @ 12:30 PM Cameron Applied Research Center, Room 101
CEFO President Edwin Braun opened the meeting at 12:34. The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Snyder, C. Blat, P. Tolley
CAMERON A.R.C.: H. Leamy
COMPUTER SCIENCE: M. Hadzikadic, R. Lejk, T. Mostafavi, Z. Ras, H. Razavi, K. Subramanian, W. Tolone, B. Wilkinson, J. Zytkow.
CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Evett, I. Gergely, J. Graham, R. Jenardanhanam, M. Kane, E. King, A. Stadler, D. Young.
ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: S. Bobbio, T. Dahlberg, K. Daneshvar, M. Hasan, Y. Kakad, V. Lukic, R. Makki, M. Miri, F. Tranjan, R. Tsu, T. Weldon.
ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: F. Ahmad, E. Braun, J. Carter, I. Jones, C. Liu, J. Patten, R. Priebe, B. Shelnutt, B. Sherlock, S. Wang.
MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: H. Cherukuri, R. Coger, P. DeHoff, D. Dubler, R. Kim, S. Patterson, J. Raja, R. Wilhelm
GUESTS: B. Clemens. Total documented attendance: 50 (42 voting members.) Quorum=38.

I. Previous Meeting Minutes, Jack Carter. The minutes of the Jan 14, 1999 meeting were approved with a couple of date corrections. Note that, in addition to distribution, the archive of CEFO minutes is maintained on the world wide web at Additions and corrections may be submitted through that media.

II. Committee Reports. None.

III. Status Report on Dean Search, B. Clemens. The final four candidates have been contacted and invited to return for the campus interview. The airport interviews were completed later than planned in orter to advertise in a broader range of journals. We now are back on course with the candidate interviewing process starting next week. The needs of the broad spectrum of consituencies was well represented by search committee members. The interviewees are not four “clones,” but do represent what we feel is the best slate of candidates possible. Be sure to attend the presentations that the four candidates will be making to the faculty. Dates and times will be coming.

IV. CEFO Elections, E. Braun. Mr. Braun solicited nominations for the various positions to be filled on various CEFO positions and university committees. No nominations were made. Nomination forms were distributed. Also, nomination forms were emailed to all faculty. Once nominations have been received, an official ballot will be mailed to each voting member of the organization. Final ballots must be received by April 28.

V. Clarification of RP&T Document, E. Braun. A clarification is needed concerning the RP&T policy. Current wording identifies that the department chair is to consult with the assembled review committee and tenured faculty. There is confusion regarding whether the tenured faculty should be assembled as a body during the consultation. Some departments are assembling faculty, while other chairs are making individual contacts. Framers of the document who attended the meeting argued that the original intent was that the tenured faculty be assembled. A motion was made to clarify the document by adding the word “assembled” prior to “tenured faculty” to remove this ambiguity. Motion Passed.

VI. University Faculty Constitution Change Proposal, R. Lejk. A proposal is being distributed with a ballot for faculty approval to make changes in the University Faculty Constitution to eliminate the voting status of administrators. A second proposal would restrict the chair position on University faculty committees to tenured faculty. Please review the proposal when it is distributed and fill out the ballot.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:55 P.M.

Submit corrections/additions here: (