May 3, 1995

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes (J. Carter, Secretary)


GANIZATION Wednesday, May 3, 1995 @ 3:00 PM CARC Building – Room 101

Dr. David Young opened the meeting at 3:14 PM. The following signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGR: R. Snyder. COMPUTER SCIENCE: M. Allen, R. Lejk, Z. Michalewicz, G. Revesz, H. Razavi, R. Shaw, K. Subramanian. ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: B. Barry, N. Byars, J. Carter, J. Chaffin, C. Liu, C. Mobley, J. Patten, W. Shelnutt, D. Smith, P. Wang. CIVIL ENGINEERING: D. Bayer, J. Evett, J. Graham, D. Hanks, R. Janardhanam, L. King, I. Runge, J. Wu, D. Young. MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: I. Bodur, P. DeHoff, R. Dubler, H. Estrada, Y. Hari, R. Hocken, G. Houghton, J. Raja, S. Smith, S.T. Smith, R. Wilhelm. ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING: S. Bobbio, K. Daneshvar, A. Edwards, M. Feldman, R. Makki, M. Miri, W. Smith, F. Tranjan. CAMERON A.R.C.: H. Leamy, T. Rufty. COMPUTING SVCS & LABS: J. Grant GUESTS: None. Total documented attendance: 48.

I. Faculty Rewards Task Force, Nan Byars. Following a year of faculty surveys, interviews with faculty and administration, the passing of numerous memorandums, the task force makes the following recommendations. Note that these are not policy statements, but rather recommendations which may be considered for policy decisions at a later time. A detailed recommendation document was distributed to the faculty. (The following is a summary of those recommendations:)

Establish a “performance plan” for each faculty member. Defines the weight (percentages) given to teaching, service and scholarship in the evaluation process. Negotiated between the department head and faculty member, or a default plan is used. Departments can define minimum and/or maximum weighting percentages. Teaching load will be assigned according to the percentage of weight assigned to teaching.

More non-salary rewards should be established for faculty. Some suggestions: Release time rewards for outstanding scholarship and teaching. Return of half of indirect costs to principle investigators. Establishment of endowed positions with $5000 stipend to be awarded annually. One for outstanding teaching, one for distinguished performance by a full professor. A “teacher of the year” parking space for each department. Increased publicity of faculty accomplishments.

II. COE Teaching Enhancement Committee, Rafic Makki. A list of questions to be included in the student evaluations was previously distributed and discussed in the previous meeting. It has been mandated from the Provost’s office that all colleges conform to the use of the CAFETERIA menu of questions for student evaluations. The 17 questions (two mandated by the provost’s office) were presented for approval.

A motion was made that we accept the 15 questions presented by the committee. A motion was made to replace #002 with “the coursework is clearly and coherently structured”. Motion failed for lack of a second. A motion was made to cease discussion. Motion passed. The original motion passed.

A Summer Workshop on the peer observation of teaching starts Wednesday at the Uptown Center. Memorandums were distributed. A stipend of $60 is provided.

III. Quorum, David Young. A motion was made by David Young to waive the requirement of a quorum on the following item in the event that the number of faculty falls below the minimum. Motion passed.

IV. New Course Proposal, Total Quality Management, David Young. A course proposal for ENGR3670, Total Quality and ENGR3671 Total Quality Laboratory was presented. A motion was made to approve the proposal. The motion passed.

V. COE Teaching Enhancement Committee, Rafic Makki. The final report from the committee was distributed in the form of recommendations pertaining to the implementation of guidelines which were approved last year. These are distributed as recommendations. They are not policy, and no action needs to be taken.

VI. Foreign Language Requirement, David Young. The motion from the previous meeting (to eliminate “bypass credit”) was distributed to the faculty council. The motion will be discussed at the Thursday meeting of the faculty council. Johnny Graham will bring it forward, Jack Chaffin will second, opening discussion. They will report back in the first meeting in the Fall.

VII. Dean’s Comments, Dean Snyder. The dean expressed agreement with the report from the Faculty Rewards Task Force. He suggested that the weighting factor be used would take effort into account.

IV. Election of Officers. The results of the election of faculty members to College and University committees:

College of Engineering Review Committee (Re-appointment, Promotion and Tenure, 94-95 C.E. Department: L. King C.S. Department: G. Epstein E.E. Department: A. Edwards E.T. Department: C. Liu M.E. Department: P. DeHoff College of Engineering Executive Committee, 95-96 President: R. Lejk (Elected 1994) President-Elect: A. Edwards Secretary: J. Carter Parliamentarian: D. Beyer University Level Committees Faculty Executive Committee (1995 – 1997): P. DeHoff; Alternate: C. Liu. Faculty Advisory Library Committee (1995 – 1997): A. Barry; Alternate: J. Graham. Faculty Advisory Summer Sessions (1995 – 1997): D. Dubler; Alternate: I Runge. Faculty Employment Status Committee (1995 – 1997): J. Chaffin; Alternate: D. Hanks.The meeting was adjourned at 4:17.