November 13, 1997

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes

(J. Carter, Secretary)


COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION Tuesday, November 13, 1997 @ 12:30 PM Cameron Applied Research Center, Room 101
CEFO President Yogendra Kakad opened the meeting at 12:37. The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

CAMERON ARC: H. Leamy, T. Rufty.
COMPUTER SCIENCE: M. Allen, T. Mostafavi, G. Revesz, Z. Ras, H. Razavi, J. Zytkow.
CIVIL ENGINEERING: D. Bayer, J. Evett, J. Graham, M. Kane, E. King, K. Linden, A. Stadler.
ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING: K. Daneshvar, R. Greene, M. Hasan, Y. Kakad, M. Miri, T. Weldon.
ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Barry, J. Bowen, J. Carter, J. Chaffin, C. Liu, R. Priebe, W. Shelnutt, B. Sherlock, P. Wang, S. Wang.
MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: R. Coger, H. Estrada, Y. Hari, J. Hill, R. Hocken, R. Keanini, G. Mohanty, E. Munday, J. Raja.
GUESTS: None. Total documented attendance: 43 (36 voting members.) Quorum=40.

I. Previous Meeting Minutes, Jack Carter. The minutes of the October 9, 1997 meeting were approved as submitted.

Announcement: Dr. L.G. Tornatzki Seminar, H. Leamy. Dr. Louis G. Tornatzki will be presenting a seminar entitled, “Benchmarking University-Industry Technology Transfer: An Analytical Approach and Tool for Change” today at 4:00 PM in CARC 101.

III. Motion to limit committee reports. A motion was made from the floor to limit the presentation of all committee reports to a length of five minutes. Motion Carried.

IV. Committee Reports.

Faculty Executive Committee, Rick Lejk. Work is being done on the consideration of a Phased Retirement Program. For information, see Rick Lejk.
CEAPCC, Hassan Razavi. The committee has acted on two certificate programs for Computer Science and two new courses for Engineering Technology. No discussion followed.
General Education (COGE), David Beyer. If anyone is intending to obtain “O” goal credit for courses, it might be best to get requests in quickly. As more courses are being requested, there may be more questions asked prior to approval.

V. Tenured Faculty Performace Review. A considerable amount of discussion and general debate was conducted on the subject with the following motions arising during that discussion:

A motion was made to instruct the Faculty Executive Committee (F.E.C.) representative to vote against the procedures in view that they might violate our current tenure contract.

A motion was made to table this previous motion. Motion Passed. The decision to instruct the F.E.C. representative is tabled.

A motion was made to call for a resolution that our representatives to any body concerned with tenured faculty performance review procedures vote in those bodies according to the wishes of the College of Engineering Faculty Organization, rather than on their own opinions. Motion Passed.

There was general consensus within the discussion on a few areas including (1) considerable concern that if the faculty buy into any form of documented procedure that they may be waiving their rights under the current tenure contract, and (2) that we already have an effective form of tenured faculty performance review in place that is consistent with that contract that includes annual performance and salary reviews by the chairs and numerous in-class teaching reviews executed by students.

VI. Dean’s Report, Farid Tranjan. ABET recently visited three departments, CE, EE, and ME. The team arrived last Saturday night, reviewed the program materials on Sunday and conducted their visitation on Monday and Tuesday. There were no deficiencies reported. The exit interview was very positive, with the team stating that the college is well on their way to meeting the ABET-2000 criteria. The Chancellor asked the team for comments that were off the record; these comments were all positive.

VII. Faculty Executive Committee, Rick Lejk. PhD program in Information Technology was approved with no change. The concept paper for the School of Information Technology was also approved.

VII. Computing Facilities Committee, Taghi Mostafavi. The current year budget for computing facilities upgrade and maintenance of both software and hardware was reviewed. For details, contact your CFC department representative. This committee will be starting another two-year term in January. The new committee will be chaired by Tom Weldon.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:56 P.M.

Submit corrections/additions here: (