November 8, 2007

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

Stuart Smith, President
James Conrad, President Elect
Ertunga Ozelkan, Secretary
David Binkley, Parliamentarian
Thursday, November 8, 2007, 12:30 PM
Woodward , Room 106

Regular Meeting
The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:
COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, R. Smelser, T. Rufty, K. Elmore, M. Hermann, W. Heybruck, M. Castle
OFFICE of STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & SUCCESS: P. Tolley, C. Blat, K. Franco, L. Thurman
CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Anderson, J. Bowen, D. Boyajian, J. Graham, H. Hilger, V. Ogunro, K. Warren, D. Weggel, D. Young
ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: J. Conrad, B. Joshi, Y. Kakad, M. Miri, A. Mukherjee, A. Nasipuri, T. Weldon, J. Xie
ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: N. Byars, A. Brizendine, T. Cavalline, B. Gehrig, D. Hoch, J. Kimble, D. Liou, D. Murphy, C. Orozco, R. Priebe, P. Schmidt, B. Sherlock, E. Yang, A. Zhou
MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: K. Bose, R. Coger, M. Davies, G. Elliot, J. Hill, J. Raja, L. Sharpe, S. Smith, A. Galambosi-Ozelkan, N. Srivastava
GUESTS: B. Mohler
Documented attendance: 55 total
Documented attendance of voting faculty: 39
Total Voting Faculty: 93
Quorum of voting faculty: 47

1. Call to order (CEFO president, Stuart Smith)

Stuart Smith called the meeting to order (approx.) at 12:40 PM.

2. Approval of past minutes (from September 6, 2007 meeting) (Stuart Smith/Ertunga Ozelkan)

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Stuart Smith, and seconded, then passed on a voice vote.

3. Student Recruitment (Karina Franco)

Ms. Franco from Student Development and Success provided a presentation on surveys indicating that campus recruitment events such as Discover Engineering and University Open Houses are important for recruiting new students. Faculty was encouraged to attend the Discover Engineering event on Friday, November 9th.

4. Election for vacant positions (Stuart Smith)

Election of alternate for Faculty Executive Committee (FEC), two-year term ending 2009.
o Dr. James Bowen was nominated/volunteered.
Election of alternate for Faculty Academic Policy & Standards Committee (FAPSC), one-year term ending 2008.
o Dr. David Boyajian was nominated/volunteered.
Undergraduate Course and Curriculum Committee (UCCC), alternate, term ending 2008
o Dr. Jerre Hill was nominated/volunteered.
No objections were made for nominations and the above faculty members were granted the respective positions.

5. Faculty Recognitions (Bob Johnson, Dean)

Dean Johnson recognized and congratulated the following faculty on their accomplishments:
a) Dr. Helene Hilger, CEE Bank of America Award recipient

b) The Bonnie E. Cone Early-Career Professorship in Teaching Award – Dr. Matthew Davies, ME

c) 2007 Excellence in Teaching Award recognitions

o Dr. Jim Bowen, CE, Undergraduate Award in Teaching Excellence

o Dr. Jiang (Linda) Xie, ECE, Graduate Award in Teaching Excellence.

(All the nominees for the teaching awards were recognized)
Undergraduate Nominee
Graduate Nominee
Dr. Dr. Jim Bowen
Dr. Brian Anderson
Dr. Arun Ravindran
Dr. Jiang (Linda) Xie
Dr. Ed Stokes
Dr. Greg Watkins
Dr. Gary (Bruce) Gehrig
Dr. Harish Cherukuri
Dr. Ed Morse

d) John H. Maxheim Award recipient, Dr. Brian Anderson, CEE

e) ASME Fellow – Dr. Ron Smelser (certificate and pins to be presented)

f) Joseph M. Biedenbach Outstanding Engineering Educator Award for Region 3 recipient, Dr. Jim Conrad, ECE
g) Recognition of Dr. Robin Coger, ME faculty & Director of CBES accepted invitation to serve as a member of the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services Center for Scientific Review (Gene and Drug Delivery Systems Study Section)
h) 2006 Charles F. Carter, Jr. Advancing Manufacturing Award recipient, Dr. Scott Smith, ME
i) American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow recipient, Dr. John Daniels, CEE
j) Promotion and Tenure Recognitions

Reappointment as Assistant Professor
Jiang Xie Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ertunga Ozelkan Engineering Management Program
Gloria Elliott Dept. of Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
Brigid Mullany Dept. of Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science

Promotion to Associate Professor with Permanent Tenure
John Daniels Dept. of Civil Engineering
Vincent Ogunro Dept. of Civil Engineering
Stephen Kuyath Dept. of Engineering Technology
David Murphy Dept. of Engineering Technology
Deborah Sharer Dept. of Engineering Technology

Grant of Tenure as Associate Professor
James Conrad Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Promotion to Full Professor
Robin Coger Dept. of Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
Russell Keanini Dept. of Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science

6. Other items of interest to faculty

Dr. Helene Hilger announced that she is organizing several sessions on sustainable engineering at the 2008 ASEE Annual Conference in Pittsburgh. She encouraged interested parties to attend.

Adjourn (Stuart Smith)

Dr. Stuart Smith asked the attendees if there were any other items of interest to be discussed or other announcements to be made. A silence indicated that no more items remained for discussion. The meeting was then adjourned by Dr. Stuart Smith at (approx.) 1:10 PM.

Please submit additions or corrections to Ertunga C. Ozelkan, CEFO Secretary at ecozelka AT uncc DOT edu .