September 24, 2002

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes
(B. Sherlock, Secretary)


COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION Tuesday, September 24, 2002 @ 12:30 PM Cameron Applied Research Center, Room 101

CEFO President Jack Carter opened the meeting at 12:34 PM. The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, K. Elmore, S. Myers, T. Rufty. CAMERON A.R.C.: COMPUTING & ENGINEERING LABS: . CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Anderson, D. Bayer, J. Bowen, J. Daniels, I. Gergely, J. Graham, V. Ogunro, D. Young.. ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: D.Binkley, R. Coleman, K. Daneshvar, I. Howitt, V.Lukic, M. Miri, A. Nasipuri, H. Phillips, F. Tranjan. ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: F. Ahmad, A. Barry, E. Braun, A. Brizendine, N. Byars, J. Carter, G. Gehrig, J. Kimble, S. Kuyath, D.Liou, T. Owen, J. Patten, R. Priebe, D. Sharer, B. Sherlock, S. Wang, G. Watkins. MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE:R. Coger, J. Cuttino, Y Hari, J. Hill, K. Lawton, H. Leamy, E. Morse, E. Munday, S. Patterson, J. Raja, J. Raquet, M. Rodgers, S. Smith, G. Teng. GUESTS: Lee Gray.

Total documented attendance: 54.

Note that, in addition to distribution, the archive of CEFO minutes is maintained on the world wide web at

I. Provost Search, Lee Gray
The calendar for the Provost search is as follows: September – gather information, October 1 to November 15 – Advertize, November 15 to December 15 – identify semifinalists, January – airport interviews, February 3/4 – finalists to campus, March – final decision, July 1 – new Provost starts work. A search firm has been engaged to assist the search committee. The search committee is eager to hear thoughts and ideas from the campus community, who are encouraged to e-mail Lee Gray or other search committee members with their input.

II. Approval of Minutes
The minutes from the CEFO meeting of August 14, 2002 were approved, with minor amendments as incorporated on the web page.

III. Faculty Governance, Jack Carter.
A motion for Bob Wilhelm to serve as Alternate on the University Faculty Executive Committee was seconded and passed. A motion for Steve Kuyath to serve as Alternate on the University Faculty Research Grants Committee was seconded and passed.

IV. Cooperative Education, D. Bayer.
The four items discussed at the August 14, 2002 meeting were voted upon, i.e. (1) Mission and Purpose (2) Expectations of co-op students (3) Expectations of co-op employers (4) New components to make co-op more attractive. Motions to approve each of the above four items were seconded and passed. To see the approved document, click here. .

V. New Progression Requirements, D. Bayer, Undergraduate Administrative Committee.
Dr. Bayer presented a proposal to replace the COE’s current “Academic progression requirements and discontinuation conditions” with the “COE Requirements for Continued Enrollment”, and summarized the major changes involved. Faculty are invited to offer their suggestions to the UAC.

VI. Dean’s Report, Bob Johnson.
The Dean discussed the current State budget situation, and presented a table showing how the salary allocation was done by using CUPA data to compare our salaries to national averages for each academic rank and discipline.

VII. Adjournment.
The meeting was adjourned at 1:48 p.m.

Submit corrections/changes to Dr Barry Sherlock, CEFO Secretary: