New Scholarships Support Energy Students

Categories: General News Tags: Newsletter

The Duke Energy – EPIC Student Fellows Annual Scholarship will go to engineering and engineering technology juniors and seniors studying within the EPIC curriculum. Eligibility for the scholarship is determined by financial need and academic proficiency. The $2,000 renewable scholarships will begin being awarded in fall 2009 with five recipients, and will then increase to 10 recipients in subsequent years.

Dhiaa Jamil is a group executive and chief nuclear officer at Duke Energy, and a Lee College of Engineering graduate. “The EPIC Student Fellows Scholarship will assist current students in achieving their goals of becoming engineers both ready and excited about contributing to the energy industry,” Jamil said. “Additionally, recipients will also understand and represent the mission and be characterized by the values of Duke Energy – seeking to make people’s lives better.”

The Shaw Group has established the William H. Grigg Scholarship Endowment for students studying in the EPIC concentration areas of energy and infrastructure. Two of the $2,000 scholarships will be awarded in fall 2009, and then an additional two in 2010. The scholarships will go to juniors and seniors who demonstrate financial need, academic proficiency and career interest in energy engineering.

Jeff Merrifield is senior vice president of the Power Group of The Shaw Company. “In coming to Charlotte, The Shaw Group negotiated a deal with the State of North Carolina that provided tax incentives for us to locate here,” Merrifield said. “We wanted to invest a portion of that tax incentive back into the community and education. So, we made the decision to put $50,000 towards the Bill Grigg scholarship fund.”

Bill Grigg was CEO of Duke Energy and a leader in the nuclear field for many years, and he is also a member of Shaw’s board of directors. “We have a great deal of respect for Bill and all he’s done for our industry,” Merrifield said. “We’re proud to be able to recognize him with this scholarship.”