August 14, 2002

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes
(B. Sherlock, Secretary)


COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING FACULTY ORGANIZATION Wednesday, August 14, 2002 @ 2:00 PM Cameron Applied Research Center, Room 101

CEFO President Jack Carter opened the meeting at 2:03 PM. The following individuals signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, C. Blat, K. Elmore, M. Herman, A. Johnson, C. Lilly, S. Myers, D.Overcash, P. Tolley. CAMERON A.R.C.: H. Leamy COMPUTING & ENGINEERING LABS: J. Halter, M. Mosley, D. Rowe. CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Anderson, D. Bayer, J. Bowen, J. Daniels, I. Gergely, J. Graham, H. Hilger, R. Janardhanam, M. Kane, V. Ogunro, E. Scott, D.Weggel, D. Young.. ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: D.Binkley, R. Coleman, M. Fiddy, I. Howitt, J. Hudak, Y. Kakad, M. Miri, A. Mukherjee, A. Nasipuri, C. Stroud, E. Stokes, F. Tranjan, T. Weldon.. ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: F. Ahmad, A. Barry, E. Braun, A. Brizendine, N. Byars, J. Carter, G. Gehrig, D. Gehring, S. Kuyath, D.Liou, D. Murphy, J. Patten, R. Priebe, D. Sharer, B. Sherlock, G. Watkins. MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: J. Brien, H. Cherukuri, J. Cuttino, M. Davies, Y Hari, J. Hill, C.Y. Lee, G. Micklow, J. Miller, E. Morse, E. Munday, L. Nance, S. Patterson, J. Raja, J. Raquet, M. Rodgers, G. Teng, D. Vaughn, R. Wilhelm. GUESTS:

Total documented attendance: 74.

Note that, in addition to distribution, the archive of CEFO minutes is maintained on the world wide web at

I. Introduction of New Faculty and Staff

Civil Engineering: Jeremy Anderson, David Weggel. Engineering Technology: Tony Brizendine, Bruce Gehrig, Gregory Watkins. Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science: Matt Davies, Michael Rodgers Electrical and Computer Engineering: Ivan Howitt, Arindam Mukherjee, Edward Stokes. C.A.R.C: . COE: Karen Elmore, Donna Overcash, Jennifer Clark, Anna Johnson

II. Approval of Minutes
The minutes from the CEFO meetings of April 23, 2002 were approved as distributed.

III. CEFO Election Results.
The CEFO Exectutive Committee is composed as follows: Jack Carter (President), Bob Hocken (President Elect), Barry Sherlock (Secretary), Steve Kuyath (Parliamentarian).

IV. Cooperative Education FAIT Report, D. Bayer.
The committee recommends four items: (1) Mission and Purpose (2) Expectations of co-op students (3) Expectations of co-op employers (4) New components to make co-op more attractive: (a) allow up to 3 hours from the seminar courses to the degree requirements (b) allow back-to-back work sessions including a summer. A motion that this matter come up at the next CEFO meeting for a vote was approved. Discussion of this will continue at the next meeting.

V. Dean’s Report, Bob Johnson.
Recognitions: The Dean recognized Yogi Hari for 25 years of service, Barry Sherlock for promotion to Professor, and Robin Coger, Tom Weldon and Falih Ahmad for promotion to Associate Professor with tenure. He extended a welcome to Michael Finney, Director of the Center for Optoelectronics and Optical Communications.

Tasks for the year ahead:

Prepare ABET self-study – everyone’s help will be needed. Infrastructure and Environmental Systems Ph.D. – permission to establish review in October Dialog on 4-year programs in Engineering Technology Finalize 2004-2009 Strategic Plan. Develop a multidisciplinary design experience. Manage growth and construction. Deal with a tight budget.

Stretch Goals:

Increase enrollment to 3000 with 120 Ph.D. by Fall 2010. Rank in top 50 of US News and World Report Public Research Universities. We are currently 86th. Strengthen the College’s research identity, market niches and capability. Differentiate and grow the Engineering Technology programs by establishing a school of Engineering Technology.



A distributed college Infrastructure and support Continue to grow external funding base, currently $60K per FTE faculty per year.

VI. Student performance on FE exam.
Beth Kreusch and Martin Kane presented a report outlining the pass rate trends in this exam.

VII. Academic progress requirements, R. Johnson.
Currently, in no case may a course be taken for a grade more than two times without the COE Dean’s approval. Dean Johnson proposed changing this to departmental approval rather than Dean approval. The change is also encouraged by CAC. This college has complex progression and discontinuance requirements, and we need to consider whether they should be streamlined or simplified. The Undergraduate Advising Committee was asked to bring a recommendation for changes to the current progression requirements to the September CEFO meeting

VIII. Adjournment.
The meeting was adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Submit corrections/changes to Dr Barry Sherlock, CEFO Secretary: