October 18, 1993

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes (J. Carter, Secretary)



Dr. David Young opened the meeting at 12:38 PM. The following signed the attendance sheet:

COLLEGE OF ENGR: R. Snyder, S. Middleton. COMPUTER SCIENCE: M. Allen, J. Frazier, R. Lejk, T. Mostafavi, J. Quinn, G. Revesz, H. Razavi, R. Shaw, B. Wilkinson, J. Xiao. ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: F. Auchey, B. Barry, E. Braun, N. Byars, J. Carter, C. Liu, J. Patten, R. Priebe, W. Routt, W. Shelnutt, P. Wang, E. Willis. CIVIL ENGINEERING: D. Bayer, J. Evett, J. Graham, H. Hilger, I. Runge, J. Wu, D. Young. MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: I. Bodur, P. DeHoff, R. Dubler, H. Estrada, Y. Hari, J. Hill, R. Hocken, G. Houghton, R. Kim, E. Munday, S. Patterson, J. Raja, S. Smith, R. Wilhelm. ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING: S. Bobbio, R. Coleman, R. Greene, Y. Kakad, V. Lukic, R. Makki, M. Miri, W. Smith. COMPUTING SVCS & LABS: J. Grant. GUESTS: None. Total documented attendance: 54.

I. Approval of minutes of the September 20th meeting. Two changes concerning the spelling of faculty and staff names. Motion made, seconded, passed.

II. Agenda Item on Outreach and Field Services, Donna Pendergrass, College of Education. Postponed to another Meeting

III. Task Forces and Programs, Silvia Middleton. A new Committee on Teaching Excellence is be formed. Interested individuals are welcomed to volunteer to serve on this committee.

IV. William States Lee COE Dedication, Dean Snyder. This is planned to be a big event. It is an opportunity to put the college forward to the community; to “rebirth” the college in the eyes of the Charlotte community. On the evening of the 21st of November a formal dinner will be held with Mr. Lee, and other friends and important people. On the 22nd at 9:00AM coffee will served in the Cone center, prior to the panel discussion to follow. This discussion will include members of upper-level administration from supporting corporations and educational institutions. They will be discussing what they believe it takes to be a preeminent college as we enter into the next century. This discussion will be followed by the formal dedication ceremony, and lunch. Following lunch a workshop will be held which will include participation by faculty, students, and industrial representatives. About 1000 people have been invited. The purpose of the workshop will be to discuss the morning panel discussion, and coming up with action plans to implement suitable ideas. All faculty are invited to enthusiastically participate.

V. CEFO Resolution Regarding University Research Park Schools, David Young. (A copy of the resolution was attached to the October 18th meeting announcement.) This is a resolution to have UNCC included in the Pupil Assignment plan for the new University Research Park school. The current plan is to assign 1/3 of the student body from the neighborhood, 1/3 from park businesses, and 1/3 by lottery within Mecklenberg County. The resolution proposes that UNCC be added to the list of park businesses. Motion: The wording in the final paragraph should be changed from “will utilize” to a form which implies that the “COE Faculty strongly urges that the Chancellor will…” Motion made, seconded, Passed.

VI. COE Strategic Plan, Dean Snyder All faculty should have received a copy of the document to be presented to the campus as our current plan. This version is in the iteration process. It has been reviewed and returned from the Academic Affairs office, and is being presented for discussion. Department plans are due to the Dean’s office in December. There is continuing discussion on both the College and University plans. This document came out of the shared vision statement developed last year. Departments should have their vision and goal statements as the basis for their planning.

Note that our enrollment in the college is reduced by about 10% this year. The effect may be the loss of as many as 10 positions. We have to find a way of doing what we want to do using our present resources.

We are currently examining our faculty reward system. It must be geared to what we want to achieve. Our goal identifies teaching to be of great importance. The current feeling among our faculty is that rewards come only through peer-reviewed research. This is a dilemma which needs to be addressed.

We are under a mandate to develop an effective advising system. Some questions have to be answered. Is it a faculty responsibility or is it to be done by a “professional advisor”. If it a faculty responsibility, somebody has to pay for this with a faculty position. What is the best role for faculty in this area? The Advising Task Force is working on this.

A general discussion on the planning document followed.

VII. COE Curriculum Revisions, Dean Snyder. (Copies of the curriculum revision documentation were previously distributed through the departmental curriculum committees.) The Template of Curriculum Ingredients was reviewed. Note the addition of an Engineering Experimentation component and a Mentoring component from the first semester. The number of hours of mathematics is reduced with the intent of integrating more of the math into other coursework. Each department has a representative on the committee working on this document.

VIII. Diane Aldridge won the Staff employee of the year. A staff appreciation luncheon will be held on Thursday, the 27th.

IX. Posthumous Degree, Rick Lejk. Dr. Lejk made a motion that a posthumous degree be granted to Mr. Gary Corpening, a major in the Computer Science department. Motion seconded, Passed.

X. Faculty Rewards Task Force, Jack Carter. Please return surveys from the Faculty Rewards task force to Nan Byars as soon as possible.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:52.