September 7, 2006

Categories: Meeting Minutes Tags: Meeting Minutes

CEFO Minutes

D. Binkley, President Stuart Smith, President Elect J. Bowen, Secretary B. Sherlock, Parliamentarian


Thursday, September 7, 2006, 12:30 PM
Cameron Applied Research Center , Room 101

Regular Meeting The following individuals signed the attendance sheet: COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: R. Johnson, R. Smelser, K. Elmore, M. Hermann, T. Rufty, D. Furr, D. Black, M. Castle OFFICE of STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & SUCCESS: P. Tolley, D. Blackmon, C. Blat, J. Braganza, K. Franco, C. McDaniel, L. Thurman ENGINEERING COMPUTING SERVICES: J. Stein CIVIL ENGINEERING: J. Amburgey, J. Anderson, J. Bowen, D. Boyajian, J. Daniels, J. Gergely, J. Graham, H. Hilger, R. Janardhanam, M. Kane, V. Ogunro, S. Pulugurtha, K. Warren, D. Weggel, J. Wu, D. Young ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING: D. Binkley, L. Casperson, J. Conrad, R. Cox, K. Daneshvar, I. Howitt, J. Hudak, M. Miri, R. Sass, L. Sheppard, T. Weldon, A. Willis, J. Xie, S. Mahaffey, Pat Winter ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY: A. Brizendine, N. Byars, D. Cottrell, B. Gehrig, C. James, J. Kimble, S. Kuyath, D. Liou, S. Mitchum, D. Murphy, T. Nicholas, R. Priebe, D. Sharer, B. Sherlock, S. Wang, G. Watkins, D. Hoch, L.P. Kabengela, T. Cavalline, N. Bousaba, C. Whitehead, W. Meier MECHANICAL ENGR & ENGR SCIENCE: J. Cuttino, Y. Hari, J. Hill, C. Lee, J. Raja, J. Raquet, L. Sharp, Y. Sireli, Q. Wei, W. Turner, C. Lim, E. Ozelkan, M. Ortiz, L Lawson GUESTS:

Documented attendance: 83 total
Documented attendance of voting faculty:53/85
Total Voting Faculty: 85
Quorum of voting faculty: 43

1. Call to order and welcome 12:37 PM – CEFO president D. Binkley called the meeting to order and welcomed all those in attendance. 2. Approval of past minutes Minutes of the 3/2/06 meeting were accepted without revision. 3. Announcement of tenure and promotion by the dean Dean Johnson announced that two college faculty had been promoted to full Professor. S. Gary Teng, MEES Dept. Sheng-Guo Wang (promoted in 2005), ET Dept. Dean Johnson also announced that four College faculty had been awarded tenure. Matthew Davies, MEES Dept. Ivan Howitt, ECE Dept. Asis Nasipuri, ECE Dept. Edward Stokes, ECE Dept. 4. Introduction of new faculty and staff members by the chairs Department chairs and office leaders announced the following additions to each unit. Engineering Management Churlzu Lim, Assistant Professor Engineering Technology Tara Cavaline, Lccturer Daniel Hoch, Lecturer/Faculty Associate Lubambala Kabengela, Lecturer/Faculty Associate Samuel Mitchum, Lecturer/Faculty Associate Thomas Nicholas II, Lecturer /Faculty Associate Electical and Computer Engineering Robert Cox, Assistant Professor Ronald Sass, Associate Professor Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science Hongbing Fang, Assistant Professor Larry Sharpe, Lecturer Winter Turner, Business Services Specialist Lydia Lawson, Business Services Specialist Motorsports Marion Canter, Administrative Services Specialist Office of Student Development and Success Jennifer Braganza, Faculty Associate for Freshman Engineering, MAPS Program Director Christoper McDaniel, Faculty Associate for Freshman Engineering and Advising College of Engineeering Debbie Black, Post-Award Administrator Engineering Computing Services Jason Edgecombe, Systems Programmer 5. Dean’s report Dean Johnson offered the following infromation to College faculty and staff. Final accreditation report was received from ABET for the the ET Dept. Accreditation was extended for 6 years. OSDS won provost award for teaching. College continues to grow. Currently have 2446 students, a 7.3 percent increase from the the previous year. Senior staff of College will examine possibilities of instituting growth control. Resarch awards doubled from the previous year to $9.8 million. COE produced 1/3rd of doctoral degrees and halp of PhD’s this past year. US News and World Report rankings have MEES at #71 and ECE at #77 in graduate category. Recent survey results show 88% of employers consider our grads to be an asset to their organization. Recent survey results show 77% of students would recommend College to prospective students. Budget situation is improved as the University received the 2d installment of reclassification funds and was fully funded for enrollment growth. Continuing budgets have been allocated to departments. Freshman Living Center (FLC) now has 200 sutdents and occupies all of Hawthorne Hall. FLC retains 93% of freshman, compared to 50% overall. Jim Brewer has been very successful in raising scholarship money for students ($600K by Brewer, $800K overall, $1000K goal for upcoming year). The two new College buildings on 29 will be dedicated on 9/8 @ 4:30 PM. College will propose a new department of Systems Engineering. College teaching award reception is 9/27 in Prospector. Energy industry leaders will visit campus on 10/12 to discuss establishing a center. Dean Johnson expects Smith and CARC will get renovation work done this year. Physcial plant considers it a priority. 6. Other items of interest to faculty Linda Thurman described the 10/12 technical presentations by three CEO’s of energy companies and announced that the Engineering picnic would be on Friday 10/13 on Hayes field. 7. Adjournment A motion was offered and seconded to adjourn the meeting. Adjourment took place at 1:37 PM.

Please submit additions or corrections to Jim Bowen, CEFO Secretary at